My Sew Called Life

A Journey Through the World of Sewing

Back to Basics February 1, 2012

Filed under: Fabric — Burke @ 5:48 pm

A fabulous thing happened today: I’ve been thinking that maybe my original plan of sewing solid wool wardrobe staples wasn’t such a bad idea. A quick closet scan yields a mass of black pieces, with a few purples, reds and navys thrown in. I just so happened to stop by www.fabricmartfabrics.com and lo and behold today’s sale is 40% off wool gabardine! SNAP! I snatched up 5 yards of both black and muted amethyst (right), and then 2 yards of bright amethyst wool crepe (left). I considered the muted gabardine to be a sensible purchase, but the crepe was pure lust.

I must be buying up fun summer patterns though because my inventory only showed about 10-12 patterns that call for wool of any kind. Oh well. I’m sure I’ll put all of these to good use!

On another note, I learned the next important lesson the past few weeks:

10. Every finger counts.

I was washing dishes and cut my ring finger on a sizable carving knife that I’ve used maybe a half-dozen times. Needless to say I was out of sewing commission for a week or so while the likewise sizable cut healed. BUT I did manage to cut out some projects which are waiting patiently on me – Vogue 8626 to be made in red wool gabardine to copy a jacket I saw in the Spring 2012 Boden catalog:

The Boden coat was actually dark blue, but I had this red wool hanging around, afraid to make anything out of it. I may actually insert snaps or leave it closure-less in lieu of sewing on buttons, which are rather large if you follow the pattern. The model wore it with skinny jeans and heels. Speaking of skinny jeans, I’ve gotten a hankering to make some kelly green denim ankle length pants, to copy the so-very-cool J. Crew jeans:

I keep reminding myself what my 1975 Vogue Sewing says:  dark colors recede, bright colors come forward and subsequently make you look larger. Luckily my bottom is not so large, so I’m thinking I’ll be okay. We’ll see!

 

Leave a Reply

