My Sew Called Life

A Journey Through the World of Sewing

Wayward May May 31, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Burke @ 11:19 am

Here we are, the last day of May. I did not, as planned, participate in Me-Made-May ’12 simply due to the fact that I have maybe 4 completed garments and it seemed pointless to take photos each week of the same four outfits. To be completely honest, I didn’t get much sewing done at all this month, despite having two dresses 80% complete that only need zippers, facings and hems. Oh well. Here’s a quick overview of what I did accomplish this month:

1. I began working on my Peony muslin. I cut a size 14 based on my accurate measurements, not high bust, and added a 2″ FBA which is my standard. After further reading I learned that Colette patterns are drafted for a C cup, so I tossed that one and reduced the FBA by 1″. It’s still waiting to be marked and sewn up, but I think this will take care of the issue. I also shortened the bodice by an inch or so which I think should be fine – hopefully the waist seam will be near perfect.

2. I purchased, printed and taped together the Burda Jenny skirt. This skirt looks soooo cute on everyone who has ever sewn it, so I figured it was time to fork over the $7.50 and just make it. The measurements look like they’ll be fine, I just need to make my muslin. I usually don’t like pencil skirts since I have a bit of a lower belly paunch. It seems that pencil skirts just make it more noticeable, but the high waistband on this skirt is super-cute. Here’s hoping it works with my large-busted, short-waisted figure.

3. I broke down a purchased Sewaholic’s Cambie! Tasia has been posting photos from her pattern testers’ versions and oh-my-goodness they are so cute! I especially love the tutorial for a straight bodice. And I am super-thrilled that the a-line version only needs 2 yards of 60″ fabric. I have a ton of it laying around, ready to be whipped into fabulousness!

On a non-sewing related note, my hubby and I just got back from St. Simons Island in GA, where he interviewed for a full-time Minister of Music position. The weekend could not have gone better, and we left before Beryl decided to make landfall. We are hopeful that we will hear good news! This does, though, have me thinking about my fall sewing plans, as our next home will determine the types of garments I make. Anyway, I’m trying not to think too much about it, but it is exciting to say the least!

 

Leave a Reply

